• fr
  • en

Are the CAP Greening measures well adapted to permanent pastures?

Logo EFNCPThe European Forum on Nature Conservation and Pastoralism (EFNCP) released some country reports on application of the new “green” CAP (Common Agricultural Policy) to permanent pastures in 6 Member States (Bulgaria, Estonia, France, Ireland, Spain and UK). The conclusion of the studies is that “the mainstream CAP instruments in Pillar 1 fail to address the main challenges and even exacerbate the threat of abandonment or damaging actions by farmers in some situations.”

Europe’s permanent pastures are mainly semi-natural and are a major producer of environmental public goods of European farming. Unadapted policy can result to their declining as a result of intensification (especially reseeding and heavy fertilisation of meadows) but mainly due to abandonment and afforestation.

Guy Beaufoy, Senior Policy Manager of EFNCP, reported that the eligibility rules to receive CAP support for pastures with trees and shrubs were too bureaucratic for Member States to implement: “since 2005 the support has shifted to payments per hectare, with new and complicated rules that discriminate against pastures with trees and shrubs”. In result, policy incentives encourage farmers to remove trees and shrubs, to abandon the pastures or to convert them to forestry use.

More information can be found in the article of ARC 2020 and the news post of EFNCP on the topic.

In response to this problem, the EFNCP launched the ‘Wood Pastures Manifesto for Urgent Change to the CAP’. More information about it can be found here.

Stimulating the delivery of public good is one of the goals of the H2020 project Pegasus, in which Euromontana is involved. Pegasus aims to develop innovative and practical ways of making public goods and ecosystem services concepts accessible and operational. To know more about Pegasus, please click here.

Share
6 April 2016

Euromontana sur Facebook

Unable to display Facebook posts.
Show error

Error: (#12) caption field is deprecated for versions v3.3 and higher
Type: OAuthException
Code: 12
Please refer to our Error Message Reference.

Euromontana sur Twitter

Améliorer les perspectives des #jeunes vivant en #montagne !
Les #communes suisses ont jusqu'au mois décembre pour déposer leur candidature, afin d'obtenir le label du #SAB : "Commune de montagne - La jeunesse, notre avenir".
https://t.co/6JbnxgcZbm

This morning our Director Marie Clotteau was invited to exchange on the Long-Term Vision for #RuralAreas during an hearing at the French @Senat, where Senator @patrice_joly is preparing a resolution on the #LTVRA

🔥 New EU project 🔥
With FIRE-RES we have 4 years to increase Europe's resilience towards #ForestFires! 35 partners to set up 11 Living Labs and innovate to protect forest 🌲
https://t.co/n1NLCGkJdK

Retrouvez le 1er de 3 podcast en français sur la stratégie de l’Union européenne pour la Région Alpine.
Au programme de celui-ci : la jeunesse.

https://t.co/cmAFg8bQlJ

Une création @_Eusalp avec @euradio_fr

@ANCTerritoires @auvergnerhalpes @Euromontana #Alpes @UEFrance

Problématiques de mobilité en milieu rural =manque d'attention spécifique dont l'Europe pourrait se faire l'activateur tant les enjeux sont comparables. Ici colloque montagne @Euromontana, présentation du programme SMARTA et aussi des solutions comme @RezoPouce

Load More...

• fr
  • en

Les mesures de « verdissement » de la PAC sont-elles bien adaptées aux pâturages permanents?

Logo EFNCPLe Forum européen sur la conservation de la nature et le pastoralisme (EFNCP) a publié des comptes-rendus par pays sur la mise en place de la nouvelle PAC (Politique agricole commune) « verte » pour les pâturages permanents dans 6 États membres (Bulgarie, Estonie, France, Irlande, Espagne et Royaume-Uni). La conclusion des études est que « les instruments généraux du pilier 1 de la PAC ne parviennent pas à relever les principaux défis et  aggravent même le risque d’abandon ou d’actions préjudiciables par les agriculteurs dans certaines situations. »

Les pâturages permanents en Europe sont principalement semi-naturels et produisent une part significative des biens publics environnementaux de l’agriculture européenne. Une politique inadaptée peut entraîner leur déclin en raison de l’intensification (en particulier le réensemencement et la fertilisation lourde des prairies), mais principalement en raison de l’abandon et du reboisement.

Guy Beaufoy, directeur des politiques à l’EFNCP, a indiqué que les règles d’éligibilité pour recevoir les aides de la PAC pour les pâturages boisés (i.e. contenant des arbres et des arbustes) étaient trop bureaucratiques à mettre en œuvre pour les États membres: « depuis 2005, les aides sont passées aux paiements par hectare, avec des nouvelles règles compliquées qui discriminent les pâturages boisés ». En conséquence, les mesures  politiques encouragent les agriculteurs à enlever les arbres et arbustes, à abandonner les pâturages ou à les convertir exclusivement à un usage forestier.

Plus d’informations peuvent être trouvées dans l’article de l’ARC 2020 et dans la news de l’EFNCP sur le sujet.

En réponse à ce problème, le EFNCP a lancé la « Pétition en faveur des pâturages boisés ». Plus d’informations à ce sujet sont disponibles ici.

Encourager la fourniture de biens publics est l’un des objectifs du projet H2020 Pegasus, dans lequel Euromontana est impliqué. Pegasus vise à développer des solutions innovantes et pratiques pour rendre les concepts de bien public et de service écosystémique accessibles et opérationnels. Pour en savoir plus sur Pegasus, veuillez cliquer ici.

Share
6 avril 2016

Euromontana sur Facebook

Unable to display Facebook posts.
Show error

Error: Error validating application. Application has been deleted.
Type: OAuthException
Code: 190
Please refer to our Error Message Reference.

Euromontana sur Twitter

Earlier in Oct we were invited to share the results of the study from our @LIFEprogramme project #OREKAMENDIAN at the Euro-Alpine Forum on #Pastoralism in Grenoble 🐑
Find out more on mountain grasslands' management 👇
https://t.co/cFFQitzIEv

Ayer participamos en la I Asamblea General de @IntergroupRUMRA del que formamos parte, con otras organizaciones y europarlamentarios para dar voz a las comunidades rurales ante el @Europarl_ES
@Franc_Bogovic @ClaraAguilera7 @nnienass
@EnginEroglu_FW
#RuralEurope #SmartVillages

The @UN #SDGs are a roadmap for #mountain regions to accelerate #climateaction, #circulareconomy, #social inclusion, and improve #wellbeing through valuing #nature. Register for our next #SATIDIGITAL event to hear from leading experts at https://t.co/xnGoA8rT1l

The future #CohesionPolicy brings a new objective: A Europe closer to citizens 🇪🇺 Can it support integrated programming in mountain areas? Can these instruments address our puzzle of challenges?
👇Analysis of opportunities & limits of this new PO5👇
https://t.co/Ti8Q33GSTF

The new 🇪🇺 strategy supports the creation of an
international methane #emissions observatory👉one objective will be #data collection & comparison between intensive & #extensivefarming

Load More...