• fr
  • en

The Social Innovation family: what about social economy and digital social innovation?

During the European Industry Days, taking place in Brussels, on 5-6 February 2019, a special focus was given to the wider family of social innovation including social enterprises and digital social innovation. Both the European Economic and Social Council and DIESIS, the EU network specialised in supporting social economy and social enterprise development, organised events taking stock of the current policy situation and providing concrete examples.

 

How are social economy and digital social innovation part of the social innovation family?
In a rapidly changing economic and technological context, different drivers have emerged driving social impact. For instance, technological solutions although often categorised as classical innovation can develop in an intuitive way, without centralised governmental support and deliver benefits in terms of traceability, fair pricing, common verified standards, consumer safety for instance. These characteristics find an echo in the SIMRA definition of social innovation highlighting the reconfiguration of social practices, the engagement of civil society actors and the enhancement of well-being.

Indeed, social enterprises and digital solutions are closer to civil society in a way as they are accessible, and the added value of their existence is easy to identify. They can also be considered as tools for scaling-up local initiatives and sustaining their social impact. Platforms in particular are tools to foster cooperation and enablers for the development of further initiatives. For instance, the example of open source software was given to illustrate how platforms could create a shared technology solution for local uptake – working in a similar manner to cooperatives.

 

Concrete illustration in rural areas
During both events organised during the European Industry Days, the concept of blockchain i.e. an innovative digital system which records transactions in an inalterable manner, was discussed time and time again. From an external point of view, the application in rural areas seemed rather distant as they are often seen as less-connected areas. However, here are 3 concrete examples of digital social innovation in rural areas:

  • SunContract: SunContract is a Slovenian energy-trading platform that utilizes blockchain technology to create a new business model for buying and selling electricity. SunContract joins together Independent Power Producers and Consumers. They connect to the decentralized energy market platform through SunContract mobile APP. Only renewable energy is traded, and the users can set their own buying/selling price.
  • Ridygo: Ridygo is a French cooperative and participatory society for real-time carpooling on short distance trips. Ridygo users are able to participate, with employees, in its governance. According to their data, 50% of job-seekers have already refused employment or training for reasons related to mobility so they have invented a business model that allows job seekers to travel for free with Ridygo. Transactions are concluded thanks to an app.
  • SavingFood: SavingFood offers a solution to the food waste challenge by developing an online networked community of various stakeholders that facilitates the redistribution of surplus food and leftover crops for the benefit of the vulnerable groups of our society.

 

Challenges and policy options
Although the enthusiasm around these digital and entrepreneurial solutions is encouraging for rural areas and entrepreneurship, many academia and policy speakers during the European Industry Days, highlighted their limits and incurred risks. These risks include the problem of the data used in ICT tools which needs to be of good quality, safely stored, accessible by data owners and used ethically. Additionally, to data protection risks, in some Member States still, the status for social economy entrepreneurs hasn’t been created and they encounter serious funding and legal problems. Finally, of course, the digitalisation of rural areas still remains a problem in many EU regions.

For this reason, the European Parliament’s intergroup “Social Economy Europe” has published a memorandum with 10 proposals for the European elections 2019, which you can read here. Indeed, social economy and social enterprises are benefitting from a growing number of EU policy initiatives such as the Social Challenge Innovation Platform, the European Social Innovation Competition, the future InvestEU initiative, the European Social Pillar, etc. Arguably, social innovation and civil society are supported through European Structural Funds and the EU Programme for Employment and Social Innovation, as well as policies that connect to SDGs, but barely mentioned in the CAP except for the Smart Villages initiative.

Regarding the CAP, SIMRA supports a mandatory cross-cutting principle for social innovation to be used in relation to any nationally designed measure of the Rural Development Programme (RDP), alongside the wider application of Community-Led Local Development. Social innovation could thereby provide a policy accelerator for any specified measure of the RDP to be used at the discretion of Member States, complementing other initiatives such as Smart Villages, results-based measures at ecosystem and catchment scale, and of especial relevance in marginalised rural areas.

Visit the “Resources” section on the SIMRA website to read our policy briefs.

 

Share
7 March 2019

Euromontana sur Facebook

Euromontana sur Twitter

"Euromontana enables us to cross French borders by discovering the initiatives of other European actors" 🇪🇺 In March we met B. Douniès, Coordinato of the French association of mountain swine professionals, read is full interview 👇https://t.co/UIBwS8wdrC

"Forest fires represent 0,2% of the EU’s annual greenhouse gas emissions but they also wipe out the benefits of forests such as CO2 removals from the atmosphere"
Read more 👉 https://t.co/fHHYJSTJRm
#InternationalDayOfForests #IntlForestDay

"There has never been a more important time to introduce a fresh, unique strategy to help safeguard the future of Scotland’s 2112 rural villages”: discover how Kenny Higgins' initiative, the #SmartVillage Scotland platform, can help rural areas! 📡
https://t.co/QcXf6ZO8Kx

The @EP_Environment just adopted the next framework for the @LIFEprogramme 👏 A real chance to develop more projects to protect our climate & environment. With LIFE, Euromontana is currently working on the sustainable management of Natura 2000 grasslands🌱 https://t.co/ys85vNEuOJ

Today is the international #ForestDay! 🌲Forest cover 41% of European mountain areas and are a great resource for the environment and local communities, discover how to protect them: https://t.co/Z3ldAT12Jr

Load More...

• fr
  • en

Innovation sociale: qu’en est-il de l’économie sociale et de l’innovation sociale numérique?

Lors des Journées Européennes de l’Industrie, qui se sont tenues à Bruxelles les 5 et 6 février 2019, une attention particulière a été accordée à la large famille de l’innovation sociale, y compris les entreprises sociales et l’innovation sociale numérique. Le Conseil Economique et Social Européen et DIESIS, le réseau de l’UE spécialisé dans l’aide au développement de l’économie sociale et des entreprises sociales, ont organisé des événements pour faire le point sur la situation politique actuelle et fournir des exemples concrets.

 

Pourquoi l’économie sociale et l’innovation sociale numérique font-elles partie de la famille de l’innovation sociale?
Dans un contexte économique et technologique en mutation constante, différents facteurs ont entraîné une incidence sociale. Par exemple, les solutions technologiques, souvent qualifiées d’innovation classique, peuvent se développer de manière intuitive, sans soutien gouvernemental centralisé, et offrent des avantages en termes de traçabilité, de tarification équitable, de normes communes, de sécurité des consommateurs par exemple. Ces caractéristiques trouvent un écho dans la définition de l’innovation sociale de SIMRA, qui met en avant la reconfiguration des pratiques sociales, l’engagement des acteurs de la société civile et l’amélioration du bien-être.

En effet, les entreprises sociales et les solutions numériques sont plus proches de la société civile car elles sont accessibles, et la valeur ajoutée de leur existence est facile à identifier. Elles peuvent également être considérées comme des outils permettant d’amplifier des initiatives locales et de maintenir leur impact social. Les plates-formes, en particulier, sont des outils destinés à favoriser la coopération et à permettre le développement d’initiatives. L’exemple du logiciel en open source a été donné pour illustrer comment les plateformes pourraient créer une solution technologique collaborative pour une utilisation locale – fonctionnant de la même manière que les coopératives.

 

Illustration concrète dans les zones rurales
Au cours des deux manifestations organisées lors des Journées Européennes de l’Industrie, le concept de blockchain, à savoir un système numérique innovant qui enregistre les transactions de manière inaltérable, a été discuté à maintes reprises. D’un point de vue extérieur, l’application dans les zones rurales semblait plutôt difficile car elles sont souvent considérées comme des zones moins connectées. Cependant, voici trois exemples concrets d’innovation sociale numérique dans les zones rurales:

  • SunContract: SunContract est une plate-forme slovène de vente d’énergie qui utilise la technologie de la blockchain pour créer un nouveau modèle commercial d’achat et de vente d’électricité. SunContract réunit des producteurs indépendants d’électricité et des consommateurs. Ils se connectent à la plate-forme via l’application mobile SunContract. Seules les énergies renouvelables sont commercialisées et les utilisateurs peuvent définir leur propre prix d’achat / de vente.
  • Ridygo: Ridygo est une société coopérative et une société participative française de covoiturage en temps réel sur des trajets de courte distance. Les utilisateurs de Ridygo sont en mesure de participer, avec les employés, dans sa gouvernance. Selon leurs données, 50% des demandeurs d’emploi ont déjà refusé un emploi ou une formation pour des raisons liées à la mobilité, ils ont donc inventé un modèle d’entreprise permettant aux demandeurs d’emploi de voyager gratuitement avec Ridygo . Les transactions sont conclues grâce à une application.
  • SavingFood: SavingFood offre une solution au problème des déchets alimentaires en développant une communauté en ligne de différents intervenants qui facilitent la redistribution des excédents alimentaires et les surplus de récoltes agricoles au profit des groupes sociaux plus vulnérables.

 

Défis et options politiques
Bien que l’enthousiasme suscité par ces solutions numériques et entrepreneuriales soit encourageant pour les zones rurales et l’esprit d’entreprise , de nombreux universitaires et orateurs au cours des Journées Européennes de l’Industrie ont souligné leurs limites et leurs risques. Ces risques incluent la gestion des données personnelles utilisées par les outils informatiques, qui doivent être stockées en toute sécurité, accessibles aux propriétaires de ces données et utilisées de manière éthique. En plus des risques liés à la protection des données, dans certains États membres, le statut des entrepreneurs de l’économie sociale n’a toujours pas été créé et ils rencontrent de graves problèmes de financement et de droit. Enfin, bien entendu, la numérisation des zones rurales reste un problème dans de nombreuses régions de l’UE.

Pour cette raison, l’intergroupe « Économie sociale Europe » du Parlement européen a publié un mémorandum contenant 10 propositions pour les élections européennes de 2019, que vous pouvez lire ici. En effet, l’économie sociale et les entreprises sociales bénéficient d’un nombre croissant d’initiatives politiques de l’EU comme la plate-forme pour le défi de l’innovation sociale, le Concours européen de l’innovation sociale, l’initiative à venir InvestEU, le pilier social européen, etc. L’on peut dire que l’innovation sociale et la société civile sont soutenues par les fonds structurels européens et le programme de l’UE pour l’emploi et l’innovation sociale, ainsi que les politiques liées aux ODD, mais sont à peine mentionnés dans la PAC, à l’exception de l’initiative « Villages intelligents ».

En ce qui concerne la PAC, SIMRA soutient un principe transversal obligatoire selon lequel l’innovation sociale doit être utilisée en relation avec toute mesure du programme de développement rural (PDR) conçue au niveau national , parallèlement à l’application plus large du développement local mené par les communautés. L’innovation sociale pourrait ainsi servir d’accélérateur politique pour toute mesure déterminée du PDR  en complément d’autres initiatives telles que les villages intelligents, les mesures axées sur les résultats au niveau des écosystèmes et des bassins versants, et présentant un intérêt particulier pour les zones rurales et marginalisées.

Consultez la section « Resources » sur le site de SIMRA pour lire nos mémos politiques.

 

Share
7 mars 2019

Euromontana sur Facebook

7 days ago

Euromontana

Vă invităm în perioada 23 – 25 mai 2019, la cea de-a XXI–a ediţie a Conferinţei ştiinţifice internaţionale "Turismul rural românesc în context internațional. Actualitate şi perspective", ce va avea loc la Vatra Dornei.

We invite you on May 23 - 25, 2019, at the XXIth edition of the International Scientific Conference "Romanian Rural Tourism in an International Context. Actuality and Perspectives", to be held in Vatra Dornei.

Organizatori: Agenția Națională a Zonei Montane, împreună cu Academia Română, filiala Iaşi – Institutul de Cercetări Economice şi Sociale "Gh. Zane" și Institutul Național de Cercetări Economice "Costin C. Kiriţescu"/INCE Centrul de Economie Montana "CE-MONT" Vatra Dornei, Ministerul Agriculturii și Dezvoltării Rurale – Reteaua Nationala de Dezvoltare Rurala - RNDR, alături de Primăria Municipiului Vatra Dornei, Asociaţia Naţională de Turism Rural Ecologic şi Cultural - ANTREC Bucovina, Institutul Naţional de Cercetare Dezvoltare în Turism - INCDT Bucureşti, Asociaţia Europeană a Ţărilor cu Munţi – Euromontana și Asociația Generală a Economiștilor din România AGER - Filiala Iaşi.

Evenimentul se adresează oamenilor de știință, cercetătorilor, cadrelor didactice universitare, doctoranzilor, masteranzilor, cu preocupări în cercetarea fenomenului turistic din spațiul rural, care, împreună cu managerii de pensiuni turistice și agroturistice încearcă să găsească soluții optime de revigorare a mediului rural și a fenomenului turistic din acest spaţiu.

Tematica manifestării:
 Turismul rural și agroturismul în contextul dezvoltării durabile la nivel naţional, regional și global;
 Tradiționalism vs. modernism în turismul rural;
 Strategii naționale și regionale de dezvoltare a turismului rural;
 Managementul și marketingul e-turismului;
 Comportamentul prestatorilor şi consumatorilor de servicii de turism rural;
 Rolul legislaţiei în domeniu în promovarea şi dezvoltarea turismului rural;
 Turismul rural din perspectivă multidisciplinară şi interdisciplinară: economie, sociologie, drept, psihologie, antropologie, etnografie, folclor etc.
 Bune practici internaționale

Lucrările Conferinței vor avea loc la Agenția Națională a Zonei Montane, din Vatra Dornei, strada Runc nr. 23, în „Amfiteatrul Munților”, după următorul Program:
Joi, 23 mai
13.00 - 14.00 Înregistrarea participanților
14.00 - 14.30 Deschiderea oficială
14.30 - 15.30 Prezentarea lucrărilor ştiinţifice – Partea I
15.30 - 16.00 Pauză cafea
16.00 - 19.00 Prezentarea lucrărilor ştiinţifice – Partea II
20.00 - 21.00 Cina
Vineri, 24 mai
09.00 - 11.00 Prezentarea lucrărilor ştiinţifice – Partea III
11.00 - 11.30 Pauză cafea
11.30 - 14.00 Prezentarea lucrărilor ştiinţifice – Partea IV
14.00 - 15.30 Pauză de masă
15.30 - 17.30 Prezentarea lucrărilor ştiinţifice – Partea V
17.30 - 18.00 Pauză cafea
18.00 - 19.30 Dezbateri, Concluzii
19.30 - 20.00 Închiderea lucrărilor
20.00 - 21.00 Cina festivă
Sâmbătă, 25 mai
09.30 - 16.00 Aplicaţie practică în comuna Vama

Mai multe detalii aici: geodantacu.wixsite.com/rorut?fbclid=IwAR23N_-GCwNINkE37dm48j6EVqTlo-TEWcoqDNnQL6wvl6GSFlr1-w7HJvE
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Euromontana sur Twitter

The brown bear is back in Portugal! 🐻 Scientists are now defining if its population could be stable in this area and giving recommendations to beekeepers in the meantime to facilitate coexistence.
https://t.co/bGxEPb3duf

Romania adopted measures to encourage on-farm restauration! 👩‍🌾
Local Gastronomic Points are an innovative way to promote #MountainProducts, #SustainableTourism and rural development at the same time!
See how it works 👇
https://t.co/GsdjqEGiNi

On the agenda of our partners meeting today in Tolmin, Slovenia:
➡️Reviewing our past activities and planning future ones
➡️Assessing our progresses
➡️Presenting and discussing good practices
Tomorrow is our international conference on #ActiveAgeing
https://t.co/Mtwq2ZRD2I

We are today attending the @ENRD_CP workshop on rural depopulation and presenting @simra_eu’s innovative #GoodPractices to tackle this challenge!

Social innovation in organic farming to revitalise rural areas 👉Keep on reading about this topic in this article wrtitten by @lachicadelDyane and @Luzieta_ for The @SEAE_Agroecolog Magazine 🐮

https://t.co/uMtWMzQSrz

Load More...